Different Sounds Zone Presents: Brzoska / Marciniak / Markiewicz

A musical experiment involving poetry, an electric guitar and a trumpet in open compositions and improvisations. The trio Brzoska/Marciniak/Markiewicz will give a gig at Different Sounds Zone in mid-February.


When: 16 February 2018 (Friday), 20:00
Where: Workshops of Culture – Próba Café, Grodzka 5a, Lublin
Free admission

Wojciech Brzoska (b.1978) – poet, author of seven poetry collections, most recently: W każdym momencie, na przyjście i odejście” (2015). His verse has been published in the majority of leading Polish literary and cultural periodicals as well as internationally, among others in Sodobnost (Slovenia), Zeichen & Wunder (Germany), Cordite Poetry Review (Australia), and in numerous anthologies published domestically and abroad. His poetry has been translated into English, German, Czech, Slovak, Slovenian, Serbian, and Spanish. He is the co-founder and vocalist of Brzoska i Gawroński, a band that so far has released two records: Nunatak (2012), and Słońce, lupa i mrówki [The Sun, the Looking Glass, and the Ants] (2015)

Łukasz Marciniak (b.1984) – A guitarist, composer and music aficionado residing in Katowice. The co-creator of Makemake, an improvised music duo noted for its open compositions in the spirit of ambient, free jazz and contemporary music. Makemake’s discography consists of two albums: From the Earth to the Moon (2016) and Something Between (Zoharum 2017). At present, he is also a member of io, a trio specialising in contemporary chamber music. In his solo work, he focuses on mastering his own idiom of articulation (pizzicato, prepared instruments), and also incorporates space and breath, merging them with noise and electronics. He has performed duets with Lena Czerniawska, Kuba Sokołowski, and Jacek Mazurkiewicz, among others.

Marcin Markiewicz (b.1977) – a trumpeter, vocalist, lyricist active in the reggae music scene. He is the co-founder and leader of Konopians, a reggae ensemble. Cultural manager, photographer.

Video: Youtube 1, Youtube 2, Youtube 3, Youtube 4